Tianluokeng (“Winkle Pit”) Village has a site halfway up Hudong Mountain at a height of 787.8 metres above sea level. The village is located in the uphill part of Shuyang Town, 60 km from Nanjing County and 98 km from Zhangzhou City. Tanluokeng boasts square and round shaped constructions, the oval Zhenchang Pavilion (振昌楼) and a number of earth buildings.
Dahudong Mountain and the Dakedong Mountains surround the village on the east, north and west, while abundant terraces occupy the village’s south. The village enjoys a pleasant natural setting and its earth building complex is regarded as the most magnificent in Fujian Province.
The oldest building in the village, Buyunlou (步云楼), was constructed in 1796, during the first year of the reign of Qing Dynasty Emperor Jiaqing. The newest building, Zhenchang Pavilion, was built in 1966. The village’s earth building complex took a relatively long time to create, with the Jiaqing reign (1796-1820) being the earliest and most productive period. The famous group known as the “Five Earth Buildings” (五座土楼) have three-layers, all facing southwest. The first floor is the kitchen, the second the storehouse, and the third the bedroom. On each floor there are wooden passages connecting the doors. The Five Earth Buildings have been the home for the Huang clan (黄, a big Hakka family) for hundreds of years.